The research activities of environmental geochemistry laboratory are focused on the environmental changes of the lithosphere based on the analyses of physical and chemical properties of the geological materials. New exploration technologies are being developed to understand a thermal history and to predict heat and mass transport phenomena through rock matrix and fracture. 

New Research Tool for Geothermics
  Prediction of the subterranean heat source and fluid flow is the essential research subjects to characterize geothermal system and its evolution.New techniques, especially thermoluminescence behavior of minerals, are being studied to evaluate geothermal activity as a geothermometry.

2-D Radiation Measurement of Radioactive Nuclides
  Using photostimulated luminescence precise 2-D natural radiation image of rocks is obtained.The distribution and migration behavior of natural radioactive nuclides in underground are being characterized with concerning Radon escape.

Water-Rock Interaction
  Experimental studies of water-rock interaction under supercritical hydrothermal condition are being conducted to estimate chemical stability of deep-steated high temperature geothermal reservoir.

Fractal Fracture Network
  Since fractures in rock mass are the most important heat and mass transport pass in the Earth's crust,studies on characterization and modeling of natural fracture network using Fractal geometry are being conducted.



Noriyoshi Tsuchiya (Ph.D, Professor)

Atsushi Okamoto (Ph.D, Associate Professor)

Masaoki Uno (Ph.D, Assistant Professor)

Kyle Bahr (Ph.D, Assistant Professor)

Shin-ichi Yamasaki (Ph.D)

Masahiro Oba (Ph.D)

Takayoshi Nagaya (Ph.D)

Fumiko Higashino (Ph.D)

Reiko Mitsuhashi (Secretary)


Ph.D Student

Satoru Ishikawa (D3)

Sho Takeyama (D3)

Alvaro Josué Amaya Arévalo (D3)

Otgonbayar Dandar (D2)

Undarmaa Batsaikhan (D2)

Kengo Sawayama (D2)

Alviani Vani Novita (D1)

Mindaleva Diana (D1)

Amanda Fajar Febiani (D1) 


Astin Nurdiana (M2)

Indah Anandya Mahendra (M2)

Kenta Takagi (M2)

Yuta Oshima (M2)

Kodai Homma (M1)

Geri Agroli (M1)

Yusuke Netsu (M1)

Hiroki Okano (M1)

Takahiro Miura (M1)

Hisamu Kasahara (M1)

Naoki Sugisawa (M1)

Takamasa Niibe (M1)


Hajime Ishii (B4)

Kenta Sato (B4)

Masaki Sekihata (B4)

Kazuki Yoshida (B4)